How Many Times Have Manchester United Won The UEFA Champions League?

Manchester United has won the UEFA Champions League three times. Here’s a guide to each of the finals they have played in.

Manchester United’s First European Cup Win – 1967-68 Season

Manchester United won their first European Cup (now known as the UEFA Champions League) in the 1967-68 season. The final was held at Wembley Stadium in London on May 29, 1968. They faced Benfica from Portugal.

Manchester United won the match 4-1 after extra time. The goals were scored by Bobby Charlton (two goals), George Best, and Brian Kidd. For Benfica, Jaime Graça scored their only goal. This victory came 10 years after the Munich air disaster, which claimed the lives of several of their players, making the victory an emotional one.

Man United’s Second European Cup –  1998-99 Season

Manchester United won their second UEFA Champions League title in the 1998-99 season. The final was played on May 26, 1999, at the Camp Nou in Barcelona, Spain. They faced Bayern Munich from Germany. Man Utd fans will remember this one forever – they were minutes away from losing the game, until something magical happened.

United won the match in dramatic fashion, scoring two late goals to overcome a 1-0 deficit. The goals were scored by Teddy Sheringham and Ole Gunnar Solskjær. Mario Basler scored the only goal for Bayern Munich. Watch the drama unfold here:

Winning The Champions League for a third time

Manchester United secured their third UEFA Champions League title in the 2007-08 season. The final was held on May 21, 2008, at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow, Russia. They faced fellow English club Chelsea.

The match ended in a 1-1 draw after extra time, with Cristiano Ronaldo scoring for United and Frank Lampard for Chelsea. The title was decided by a penalty shootout, which United won 6-5. Watch the highlights and the historic penalty shootout below:

Defeats in the Champions League final

In addition to these victories, Manchester United also reached the final in the 2008-09 and 2010-11 seasons, losing both times to Barcelona. Watch the highlights from the 2009 final here: